Created in 1854, this corridor linked the wharf in Old Town to Clifton and beyond; connecting the steamships from Toronto to Niagara Falls and the U.S. It was a Town-sustaining force and a conduit for commerce, tourism, militia, agriculture and prosperity. The Erie & Ontario Railroad was the first steam powered railway in Upper Canada. The UCHT is an historical, distinct trail worthy of recognition and endurance.
This 66 foot wide corridor may be legally intact but it is visibly broken and even unknown to many residents of Niagara-on-the-Lake. The utilization of the trail has been compromised in the last few years by erosion and washout between Line 9 and York Road and in other sections by the unintended actions of adjacent landowners. The overall integrity of the corridor is eroding due to an inability for people to use it. Vegetation and grass are growing where people used to walk, run, cycle and ride horses. The trail is losing its “visibility” in both a physical sense and in the overall consciousness of the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake.
It is the only unimproved multi-use trail in the entire Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake; it offers a safe off-road cultural, agricultural and environmental experience as it winds through Old Town, the vineyards of the Greenbelt protected area and through the Niagara Escarpment between Queenston and St. Davids. It encompasses the urban-suburban-rural transect as it connects the heritage of the dock area to the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve of the escarpment. As an historically significant corridor that is 162 years old, its commemoration on Canada’s 150th birthday seems timely and urgent.
Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake
Celebration of Canada's 150th Birthday!
Copyright © Canada Sesquicentennial in Niagara-on-the-Lake. All Rights Reserved.
Please note that use of the 150 Niagara-on-the-Lake logo is by permission only. Please contact us.